Under private ownership since 2007, the marina has undergone a vibrant transformation in the last few years. Come see our inspired and innovative landscaping, float with ease through our fully dredged waterways, or just relax and enjoy the scenery.
In 2010 we earned the Business of the Year award from Vallejo’s Chamber of Commerce and we have certainly kept up the great work! In just June of last year the renovations were completed on our famous lighthouse and our sister company--The Lighthouse at Glen Cove Marina--was born. We now have a 140-person capacity banquet facility on site available to host private events and meetings. In 2014, we were elected Marina Dock Age's Small Marina of the Year- the first in California to win this honor. We are determined to make this the best spot on the water in the Bay Area and will continue to improve our surroundings.
In the mid 1800s, ship traffic from San Francisco to the California Delta increased
dramatically due to the discovery of Gold at Sutter’s Mill and the construction of the
Navy’s first base on the West Coast on Mare Island. The first lighthouse to mark the
entrance to Carquinez Strait was built in 1873. Not long after constructing the Mare
Island Lighthouse, the Lighthouse Board realized that a beacon positioned offshore
near the junction of Carquinez Strait and the Napa River would better serve
navigation in the area.
Glen Cove Marina’s “white Victorian house” was originally built as a twenty-eight
room residency as part of the Carquinez Strait Lighthouse and Life Saving Station. First occupied on January 15, 1910, the lighthouse was one of a
chain of seventeen stations that started at the entrance to San Francisco Bay (Point
Bonita) and ended at Roe Island in Suisun Bay.
Of the seventeen original lighthouse buildings, only three others remain in
existence: the St. Francis Yacht Club on Tinsley Island, the East Brothers lighthouse in
San Pablo Bay (now a bed and breakfast establishment), and the Oakland Harbor
Light (now Quinn’s Lighthouse, a restaurant and bar).
In 1907, Congress appropriated $50,000 for a small light and fog signal at Carquinez
Strait. Starting in 1908, hundreds of wooden piles were driven into the strait’s muddy
bottom to create a long pier extending out into the water over a mile from Carquinez
Heights. At the very end of the pier, a dock and causeway led to a platform which
supported the lighthouse. Completed in 1909, the spacious 28-room, 3 story dwelling
had a veranda which wrapped around the northern side. It housed 3 keepers and their
The red light from a fixed, fourth order Fresnel lens first shone in 1910, and the
nearby Mare Island Lighthouse was discontinued 7 years later. The Carquinez Strait
Lighthouse served until 1951 when it was replaced by a smaller automated beacon
and fog signal. Four years later the lighthouse was offered for sale.
The building was purchased in 1955 and moved to Elliot Cove, where the docks you see today were built around it. Intended to be
named, Lighthouse Harbor, the marina eventually became Glen Cove Marina.
Sadly, the tower and lantern were destroyed during the move, but most of the
building remains intact. The marina office is located on the veranda, which
has been enclosed with giant windows, so visitors can still admire the views of the
marina and Carquinez Strait.